Solo Travel : Women

If you are lucky, you stop seeing the world as a series of things you do not have — a boyfriend, a baby, an adorable terrier – and you start noticing the things you do have. A healthy bank account, unburdened by mortgages or school loans. No romantic ties. Loving parents who wanted nothing but happiness for me. Years to burn. That kind of freedom is like a command from the universe to get off your ass and do something amazing.

Salon.com article – Every Woman Should Travel Alone

Ok, so yes, I have school loans, and I’m broke – I am a workaholic who saves the money to pay off bills and travel once a year – you know, the whole Dalai Lama thing. You don’t know about that?

Once a year, go someplace you’ve never been before.

I have the quote in my bathroom, along with a few other ones. I found this postcard that had the “rules of life” or something, and I thought, hey, that is one that is incredible and should be true. And this article is true. I love the last sentence. “That kind of freedom is like a command from the universe to get off your ass and do something amazing.”

But, while I’m working and paying off my bills, I travel to find out what it is that is so amazing that I am meant to be doing.

 

Read this book this winter. You won’t regret it. Sometimes I wish I could be as gutsy as these ladies.

And remember what my friend Ma said, “If the good Lord gives you your health, you should go – travel, do what you want to, until you can’t anymore.” I will never forget that statement of wisdom.

 

Leave a Reply

